English 2018-04-22T11:37:01+00:00

What is ITERP ?

ITERP is a consortium of researchers based in different countries around the world. The members work in universities and laboratories and are specialized in various disciplines: psychology, political science, sociology, psychiatry, anthropology, criminology and mathematics. The consortium also includes action research centers and prevention associations that wish to engage in an evaluation of their practices.

ITERP’s members come together to share their knowledge and methods, as well as to compare their different approaches to the evaluation of prevention methods. This large-scale scientific cooperation will make it possible to better understand the impact of prevention programs on the concerned populations, and will more broadly analyze how the phenomenon of radicalization is dealt with.

Why ITERP ?

Since the attacks of September 11, 2001, many countries have implemented measures to prevent radicalization, often called « deradicalization programs », « disengagement » or « reintegration » programs. All of these measures are a part of the fight against radicalization [counter-radicalization], which is defined by the UN as a set of « social, political, legal, educational and economic programs specially designed to dissuade disillusioned individuals to take the plunge and become terrorists ». These measures are addressed to jihadists and to extremists of the far right or left alike.

Yet the effectiveness of these programs remains to be proven. Political representatives agree on the importance of implementing evaluations of these prevention programs. Evaluations, however, remain difficult to implement due to a lack of financing for the relevant organizations, the scientific skills required to develop a targeted evaluation, and the fears aroused by the possible results. It is with these challenges in mind that the ITERP research program was born.


How does ITERP work?

In each country, ITERP establishes collaborations between three principle actors: the research teams that study the issue of the prevention of radicalization, the organizations dedicated to supporting prevention programs, and the political parties responsible for such programs. The consortium’s approach is to construct evaluation tools in partnership with the organizations evaluated. The managers of the evaluated programs are directly involved in the evaluation process. Researchers and stakeholders work together to determine the parameters, the evaluation tools used, and the methods of formalizing the results. Associations have the right to oppose the publication of the results of their evaluations. ITERP does not disseminate information concerning the identity of the organizations or people involved. All data collected during the interviews and meetings with the team remains anonymous. This anonymous data is then modeled mathematically to analyze correlations among the profiles of the people receiving support, the type of the organization, the theories of change at the foundation of the prevention program, age, etc.

What are the objectives of ITERP?

  1. Create the first global scientific base on the issue of the evaluation of prevention methods.
  2. Evaluate the measures to prevent radicalization in countries around the world.
  3.  Compare the results of these assessments in order to identify the type of methods that work best based on the profiles of the people studied.
  4.  Inform and educate decision-makers and policy-makers about the importance of method evaluation.
  5.  Promote the collection of empirical data useful for evaluation.
  6. Provide support for teams, associations or political bodies that cannot afford to employ a person dedicated to evaluation. This support takes the form of providing specified tools to facilitate the evaluation.
  7. Contribute to improving the support of radicalized people by providing organizations with the financial means to integrate a component of evaluation in their prevention program in order to better understand their practice and actions, and to contribute to their evolution.
  8. Measure the impact that prevention programs have on those in the support programs as well as on the population as a whole

The ethics of ITERP

The partnership between ITERP and its teams is based on mutual assistance, complementarity, confidentiality, respect for different points of view, and a refusal of hierarchical relationships. All ITERP members are considered to be equally important to the project. ITERP is firmly committed to non-discrimination and believes in equal opportunity in all its forms.

ITERP strongly opposes the establishment of a hierarchy among prevention programs, the imposition of an assessment in the agreement, and the active participation of those involved. Evaluation should not be seen as a negative judgment imposed from the outside, but rather as a driver of progress and as a renewal of best practices. ITERP does not publish any information about its partners. All the evaluation data stored is immediately made anonymous in order to avoid all risks related to the dissemination of information. All ITERP members sign a confidentiality agreement and an ethical charter. The structures and research teams involved in this consortium have a permanent right of withdrawal.

ITERP is already bringing together multiple teams, but we are counting on your logistical support, as well as on your scientific participation to extend this network to all countries of the world. This collaborative program will be officially launched in September 2018.

For more information, contact us at : contact@consortium-iterp.com

Home 2018-04-21T19:32:05+00:00

Qu’est-ce que l’ITERP ?

L’ITERP est un consortium de chercheurs implantés dans différents pays du monde. Ils sont issus d’universités et de laboratoires de différentes disciplines : psychologie, science politique, sociologie, psychiatrie, anthropologie, criminologie et mathématique. Il intègre aussi des centres de recherche-action et des associations de prévention qui désirent s’engager dans une démarche d’évaluation de leurs pratiques.

Ils se sont rassemblés dans le but de partager leurs connaissances, leurs méthodes et de comparer leurs approches sur la question de l’évaluation des dispositifs de prévention. Cette coopération scientifique de grande ampleur permettra de mieux cerner l’impact des programmes de prévention sur les populations concernées, mais aussi plus largement d’analyser le phénomène de la radicalisation sous l’angle de la prise en charge.

Pourquoi l’ITERP ?

Depuis les attentats du 11 septembre 2001, de nombreux pays ont mis en place des mesures de prévention de la radicalisation, parfois nommées programmes de «déradicalisation » [deradicalization programs], de «désengagement » [disengagement program] ou de réintégration. L’ensemble de ces mesures font partie de la lutte contre la radicalisation [counter-radicalization], qui est définie par l’ONU comme un ensemble de «programmes sociaux, politiques, légaux, éducatifs et économiques spécialement conçus pour dissuader des individus désabusés de franchir le pas et de devenir des terroristes. Elles s’adressent tout autant aux djihadistes qu’aux extrémistes de droite ou de gauche.

Pourtant l’efficacité de ces programmes reste à prouver. Les représentants politiques s’accordent sur l’importance de mettre en place des évaluations de ces programmes de prévention. Mais elles restent difficile en raison du manque de moyen des structures concernées, des compétences scientifiques requises pour développer une évaluation pertinente et des craintes suscitées par leurs résultats. C’est de ce constat qu’est né le programme de recherche de l’ITERP.

Comment fonctionne l’ITERP ?

Dans chaque pays, l’ITERP établit une collaboration étroite entre des équipes de recherche spécialisées sur la question de la prévention de la radicalisation, des responsables de programmes de prévention et des structures dédiées à la prise en charge. Sa démarche est celle de la co-construction des outils d’évaluation en partenariat avec les structures. Les responsables des programmes évalués sont directement impliqués dans la démarche d’évaluation. Chercheurs et intervenants déterminent ensemble les paramètres retenus, les outils d’évaluation utilisés et les méthodes de formalisation des résultats. Les associations peuvent s’opposer à la publication des résultats de leurs évaluations. L’ITERP s’engage à ne diffuser aucune information sur l’identité des structures impliquées, les personnes suivies et à anonymiser toutes les données recueillies lors des entretiens et des rencontres avec l’équipe. Ces données anonymes seront par la suite modélisées mathématiquement afin de pouvoir établir des corrélations entre les profils des personnes prises en charge, la forme de la structure, les théories du changement au fondement du programme de prévention, l’âge, etc.

Quels sont les objectifs de l’ITERP ?

  1. Créer la première base scientifique mondiale sur la question de l’évaluation des dispositifs de prévention.
  2. Evaluer les mesures de prévention de la radicalisation dans différents pays du monde.
  3. Comparer les résultats de ces évaluations afin d’identifier les formes de dispositifs qui fonctionnent le mieux en fonction des profils des personnes.
  4. Informer et sensibiliser les décideurs et les responsables des mesures de prévention de l’importance de l’évaluation des dispositifs.
  5. Favoriser la collecte des données empiriques utiles à l’évaluation.
  6. Fournir aux équipes, aux associations ou aux organismes politiques qui n’ont pas les moyens d’employer une personne dédiée à l’évaluation un cahier des charges et des outils qui faciliteront leur auto-évaluation.
  7. Contribuer à l’amélioration de la prise en charge des personnes radicalisées en fournissant aux structures les moyens d’intégrer dans leur programme de prévention un volet d’évaluation de leur pratique et de leurs actions qui contribuent à leur évolution.
  8. Mesurer les impacts des programmes de prévention à la fois sur les personnes prises en charge et les populations.

L’éthique de l’ITERP

Le partenariat entre l’ITERP et ses équipes est fondé sur l’entraide, la complémentarité, la confidentialité, le respect des différences de points de vue et le refus des rapports hiérarchiques. Tous les membres de l’ITERP sont considérés comme des porteurs à part égaux du projet. L’ITERP est engagé contre les discriminations sous toutes ses formes.

L’ITERP s’oppose fermement à l’établissement d’une hiérarchie entre les programmes de prévention et à l’imposition d’une évaluation dans l’accord et la participation active des personnes impliquées. L’évaluation ne doit pas être perçue comme un jugement négatif s’imposant de l’extérieur, mais au contraire comme un moteur de progrès et de renouvellement des pratiques. L’ITERP ne publie aucune information sur ses partenaires. Toutes les données d’évaluation conservés sont immédiatement anonymisées ce qui permet d’éviter tous les risques liés à la diffusion d’informations. Les membres de l’ITERP signent une charte de confidentialité et une charte éthique. Les structures et les équipes de recherche impliquées dans ce consortium disposent d’un droit de retrait permanent.

L’ITERP rassemble déjà de multiples équipes, mais nous comptons sur votre soutien logistique ainsi que sur votre participation scientifique pour pouvoir étendre ce réseau à tous les pays du monde. Ce programme de collaboration sera officiellement lancé en septembre 2018.

Pour toute information, contactez-nous sur : contact@consortium-iterp.com